Different perspectives

“I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.” ― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

“But I believe in true love, you know? I don’t believe that everybody gets to keep their eyes or not get sick or whatever, but everybody should have true love, and it should last at least as long as your life does.” ― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

Love.These quotes are from one of my favourite books: “The  Fault in Our Stars”.I don’t know how many of you had read it,  and if you hadn’t you definitely should.I love it.Not because it is just a random love story, but because it taught me some lessons for life.I was inspired by this book and I think I will continue to be.Maybe it is about two ill people that suffer from cancer:Hazel and Augustus, but their love story is not the classic type.It has many heartbreaking moments and the ending is just great.This should be the main idea, but I can never capture the essence of this book in just fewer words.

I want to talk about how love is described in these two sayings written above.I pretty like how John Green describes this complex feeling and in a way it captures my idea.Our perspectives are different, but their end up in the same spot like an x.It crosses paths and then separates, but  there is a center where the lines cross.The main idea is that love is a very powerful feeling, which every human being experience at some point in their lives.All those butterflies and cute stuff, which sometimes are silly, and other times are beautiful, create a magic spell and this is exactly where I want to say that true love should last, as John Green said: “it should last as long as your life does.” The other saying pretty much catches the main idea of the triumph of some sort in love.No matter what’s going to happen or how much the suffering  is going to last, the character will still love Hazel.

So, I also want to say that I don’t agree with falling in love.There is another book from John Green that talks about how this feeling is about falling and landing.But no.I think it’s about rising.Everybody says they are falling in love, like love is some kind of a bad stuff or a hole you are falling to.No, it shouldn’t be like that.We just see the dark side of it when we say fall.When you fall you get hurt, right?Why isn’t it called rising, then?Falling seems so related to suffering.I really don’t like it.If everybody will say “I rise in love”, it will mean the side of this feeling that makes life worth leaving.Not the bad one.The magic one.Love is a magic spell and sometimes we are not conscious of its power.So, I don’t know if I am right or wrong but rising means changing and everybody who loves, learns and develop in a better way.That’s why, for me, love is not about falling or suffering , it’s about rising from the ashes like a phoenix bird.I choose to see this part of love not only because I am a positive person, but because loving someone has more benefits than downsides.I hope you will get my point here and I am really glad if someone shares my opinion.I am taking this little step:to believe that we rise, not only fall, and it’s not just about landing, but about the journey until we land.Love makes life worth living.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

