Posted in Writings

Wounds and Scars

“The marks humans leave are too often scars.”― John GreenThe Fault in Our Star

Unfortunately, this is true.We hurt a lot of people during our life.Sometimes we don’t even realize it.We manage to hurt some by purpose, but some without even realizing it.Other times, our only choice is to hurt them, even though we don’t want to.Maybe they are our friends, relatives, lovers or other types of people.It doesn’t matter.Humans leave too often scars on someone for life and it would be too heartbreaking for you to know how many people were left with marks just because of your actions.

The best part is that wounds heal.Times heal everything.No, I don’t agree.Why?Because time just goes by incredibly fast and we go along with it.The pain lessens and we kind of heal, but never completely.For instance, when you love someone once you will always love them.Your feelings lessen, pass a little bit, but they never disappear.It’s exactly the same thing with wounds left forever in your soul.What is amazing about them is that you have a choice.Hurting someone is inevitable at some point in your life, but healing is your decision.You can choose to suffer for the rest of your life or you can choose to grow from the experience and become better than before.That’s why I love my scars.I learned lessons in the hard way, because that is me.I never listen to people telling me not to do that, or not to feel that, because a part of me just says “No.I know that maybe you are right, but sometimes I need to listen to my heart and see with my own eyes”.And I did.So many times.

Scars remained within my soul and they will last as long as I am alive, but I look around me and I am grateful for being blessed with friends, a family that loves me and the fact that I am healthy.I always wanted to help people and make them happy.Never hurt them.The cruel truth is you can’t.You need to understand.I am just saying that sometimes is good for them to be hurt.That’s how we become better, by making mistakes.I hurt people and I am sorry, but I can never bring them back without those wounds.They changed.Suffering makes you change, wounds, scars, they become a part of you and you keep them hidden in a chest.Only you posses the key.See your scars and wounds as lessons.Be grateful because you have them.Some people on Earth may not be that lucky to become so wise.I am young, but I think I know what I am talking about.

The most painful scar is when your heart brakes.Shatters in pieces and you just don’t know where to start putting them back together.Just don’t.What I always tried to do was not giving myself enough time for my heart to heal.Just ignoring the feelings that were exactly in front of me.Time.My friend, time.It really made me fully understand the importance of not putting bandages over a wound.If you put a bandage over an injury that doesn’t mean it will go away.No, it will hurt more and more each time you create a new one over it.Take down the bandage.If you are smart enough not to cover your pain, I am really proud of you.

The good part of scars made by love is the moment you realize how truly you love.I guess I could only appreciate my scars after discovering this.I will always care for people and help them in whatever way I can.I am not strong enough not to cry if a piece of my heart shatters.I will, but everybody does it, right?I am not perfect and I have so many scars I can’t even count, but this is certain:I choose to see them with good eyes.Wounds are experience and experience makes you wiser.I learn from them every day, they don’t pass, they lessen.I don’t want them to pass, I want them to stay.Why?Simply because they made me who I am today.They made me change in so many ways and I don’t hate people who hurt me.I thank them for making me see that I can survive the worst times and cherish the good times.I think that’s what we should do:forgive those who hurt us.They made us greater.They showed us how to survive through the storm of life and they helped us to become fighters.

Here are some quotes that inspired me:

“Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars.” ― Kahlil Gibran

It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.” ― Rose Kennedy

“Some people see scars, and it is wounding they remember. To me they are proof of the fact that there is healing.” ― Linda Hogan

Everyone always wants to know how you can tell when it’s true love, and the answer is this: when the pain doesn’t fade and the scars don’t heal, and it’s too damned late.” ― Jonathan TropperThe Book of Joe

 

 

 

Author:

"You can tell yourself that you would be willing to lose everything you have in order to get something you want. But it’s a catch-22: all of those things that you’re willing to lose are what make you recognizable. Lose them, and you’ve lost yourself."— Jodi Picoult

Leave a Reply

