Posted in Writings

The wide open window

Have you ever wondered what would have happened if one certain moment in your life would have been different?Because I did so many times I couldn’t even remember why.What I want to talk about today is something that changed my life completely.This y is very personal and I was so afraid to tell someone about it, but I am not anymore.Life is about taking chances, so here, I am taking mine.
Almost one year ago I went through a dark period of my existence because of an unfortunate series of events that happened in my life.I couldn’t control them.For some, I am fully responsible, for others, not so much.I became the shadow of the girl I used to be and I found my life pointless.The days went by and I just went with them, finding no meaning at all in living.
One day, no different from any other day, I was in a place I loved so much.It was actually a room and I was quietly standing on my chair, looking at the other people talking.My gaze fell upon one particular person and then a huge feeling of sadness overwhelmed me, so I turned my head to see a wide open window.I gazed in the distance, outside, hearing just the murmurs of the voices in the room.Suddenly, it began to rain slowly.I remained perplex, unable to understand what was happening.An idea started to form in my mind.An idea about a story that I would like to write.
On the way home I thought about it more and more.I was not paying attention to the people around me.All that mattered was my story.No, I was not selfish.I felt that finally I had something to hold on to, something that would give me hope, happiness and peace.When I arrived home the first thing I did was to grab a pen and a paper and began to write.I couldn’t even realise how much time passed, but when I was done, I felt so much better, I felt relief.That’s how I wrote my first story: Passing through the rain.

To be continued

Author:

"You can tell yourself that you would be willing to lose everything you have in order to get something you want. But it’s a catch-22: all of those things that you’re willing to lose are what make you recognizable. Lose them, and you’ve lost yourself."— Jodi Picoult

2 thoughts on “The wide open window

  1. This has happened to me as well, when something small prompts you to re-think things differently, and to eventually sit down and write. This is when the muse has visited you. 🙂 I look forward to reading the second part!

Leave a Reply

