A special gift

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Easy Fix.”

Dear S.,

Once upon a time, a long, long time ago we were just two children. Now, we are teenagers. How did time fly so fast? It was like yesterday we played outside all day and now we have to decide our future. I guess life happened…but I still remember our childhood. Do you remember that sweetness? Do you remember that innocence? We put tattoos on walls in order to make a collection and every time you went home mad at us I blamed myself even though it wasn’t my fault. You were so gentle and I was so tough. Just two kids. You and I.

We went to each other’s apartments and I know that you gave me sweets. I couldn’t have loved you more for that. I liked to play on the computer with you because I didn’t have one at that time. You were my closest guy friend. I clearly remember the first time you told me you loved the girl from the other apartment block and I was wondering how it is like to be ‘in love’. She had long hair and she was so girly, and here I was, with a pixie cut and the most boyish girl I’ve ever met. I wanted to be like her and I was so jealous, but not because you loved her, but because she was everything I wasn’t. I’m sorry she left to go to another country. You had that sparkle in your eyes when you talked about her. I was there for you, holding you so that you won’t fall apart. It was heartbreaking for me.

Anyway, let’s cheer up. Do you remember that joke I made to scare you with the other boys? He dressed scary and rang your doorbell. When you opened the door he said ‘Your time has come, Sebastian’ and I rang the bell. After that we went to your apartment and you were shivering. We thought it was fun. I’m sorry if we terrified you. How could I forget the time we played in the apartment block the game with the light (we had to run in the darkness from the 4th floor to the entrance) or the lava floor thing? Everytime it was near Halloween we had pumpkins and we put them at our doors, the candlelight shining through their mouth and eyes. We told scary stories in the darkness and ate sweets. Yeah, it was so fun, but all those days are gone. We grew up and you were always there for me when I needed someone to hold me, to hug me, to fix me. You were there for me when I broke my hand, you were there for me when I got my heart broken 3 times and you were there for me when I was betrayed by my so-called ‘friends’ and I was there for you, too. You did so much for me. How could I not say ‘thank you’? We had ups and downs but what friendship doesn’t? After all, we are people, we make mistakes and we learn from them. It is an honour to know that you are my best friend. One time, last year, you held me in your arms and I cried because the world wasn’t fair. Do you know what you said? You told me that you didn’t want to see me crying, that I shouldn’t cry. That time he broke my heart you made me that sweet Lana del Rey soundtrack and told me that depression is not for me, that I am a happy person and it will last for a short time. When I fell in love and I told you that I was scared, because I didn’t want to get hurt again, you answered that I should man up as I could go through any hurt and love would be worth the risk. All the time.

You think I am so strong and I don’t believe there is another better word to describe me, but I am gentle, too. I learned that one from you, sweetie. Most people think you’re my boyfriend, but who could blame them? We often go out together, take pictures and have fun. We walk under the same umbrella when it rains and you open doors for me. Each time I see you, we hug. We have a beautiful friendship and I do all this because I love you. Not in that romantic way, but in that ‘you’re my best friend kind of way’. You mean a lot to me. I  can’t really describe into words what your support means to me. I realise you want me to be happy, but I want you to be happy, as well. I don’t want to smile if you cry. If I could go back in time I would never change our friendship because I found someone like you when I was only a baby. You have a good heart, S. You will always be my Tristy and I’ll always be your Lucy. Our friendship went through a lot and we are still best friends, taking care of each other better than we did before. I will always, always, love the way you treat me whenever I need someone to talk to. You know I am a hopeless romantic, always in love with someone and always talking about guys. I feel privileged to know I am one of the few persons who you trust. I know you. The real you. Many don’t, but I do. Keep smiling, sunshine, at least today, because it is your birthday and you deserve the best gift ever. Do you know why? Because that’s how the story starts: ‘Once upon a time a guy met a girl. And all was right in the world.’

With sincerity,
Your best friend

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ishkishmish
    Jan 27, 2015 @ 05:19:22

    Happy Birthday to S! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 415 other followers

