Light the spark

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Breaking the Law.”

“Because rules are meant to be broken

And life is supposed to be perfectly imperfect”

The last time I broke the law?  Actually,  today.

First of all I think I should define what a rule means for me. It is exactly like a box in which everyone lives. You need to be there,  do this,  obey that,  because people say it’s the right thing to do. The moment you step out of the box,  you break the rules. It doesn’t matter if you like it or not,  you just do. How do you know? It’s simple. They see it. They see that you’re different and you chose something else. When you no longer fit the society’s idea of who you should be,  you destroyed the walls of the box and here you are,  amazing others,  because you don’t go with the flow or follow the safe path. At least,  this is my perspective about laws in general.

What I did today?  We choose to live in in the darkness. It may seem hard to believe,  but this is the harsh truth. A few days ago I had stopped thinking for a few hours and realised that the dominating emotions I felt were not good ones. It was so much hatred that I thought it would never end. We like to go on and brag about how great we are and say that we are ‘good people’. If I will curse you right now,  will you say something back to me?  What if I punch you?  Or hurt you?  Will you hate me?  Yes,  you will. What side are you on,  then?  That’s what I am learning now:  to treat everyone kindly. It doesn’t matter if it is a stranger,  a thief,  a person I don’t like. The way I treat the ones around me says a lot about myself and nothing about them. Today,  I managed to control my anger. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. In the heat of the moment you feel like destroying someone’s life,  but then you realise the only person’s life you are destroying is yours. It doesn’t help to tie knots to people you don’t want to be attached to.

The second rule I had broken this week: to completely forgive myself. In order to go on with my life I had to take responsibility for my actions and let the past go. I’m not my mistakes. I’m not what’s gone. I am here right now trying to be better than yesterday. I destroyed so many walls this week that I forgot where I had left my box. It may seem crazy,  but I choose to be a good person and treat others the way I want to be treated.  I am learning how not to get sad anymore,  because I want ro get rid of the darkness. If I can,  so can you. It’s neither hard,  nor easy,  just a decision. We can only say we are on the good side when we achieved an inner peace. Until then,  we are striving to catch the light,  but it is still slipping little by little through our fingers. But you know what? It is fine. It’s supposed to.

”Lessons are meant to be learned and mistakes are meant to be made.

Just like rules are meant to be broken. ”

Love,

M.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Daily Prompt, Breaking the Law | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 415 other followers

