Posted in Writings

What I broke my heart for

When you stay there, alone, with tears running down your cheeks, thinking ‘this is what I broke my heart for.. ‘ you know it is gonna be a good story. We all get our hearts broken from time to time and I believe we overreact. It’s okay to get your heart broken. It’s glorious. Unfortunately, we see the half empty side of the glass instead of cherishing the true picture. Yeah, you may have lost a person.. so? So what? Look at all those things you have gained through breaking your heart: all those friendships, all those memories, all those lessons. Look me in the eyes and tell me it wasn’t worth it, that you wish your heart never broke. Well, I’m gonna tell you the truth: you can’t. Do you know why? Because you know that no matter how much it hurt you, it taught you something valuable and without that lesson you couldn’t go on. So.. break your heart as much as you can because only with broken pieces you can build a masterpiece. In the end, your heart was never destroyed, it was whole. You may have just felt like it. There is nothing bad happening in your life, only another possibility. And what can be more beautiful than giving someone the best gift of love: freedom? Don’t get stuck in the things you’ve lost because if that person didn’t care it wasn’t a loss, it was a gain.. but you gained something more amazing than a lesson, you gained freedom and this can never be bought with money. You gained wisdom. You gained more love than before. Look up and thank God every day for ‘breaking your heart’ because otherwise you wouldn’t have opened your eyes. I could have talked about sadness or pain, but I can’t because I learned that love is much more than keeping someone in a cage and if it’s unconditional it doesn’t truly matter how the other person feels. You love them anyway. So, forget about the heartache for one minute and think about your life and all you’ve achieved because one day, someone, decided to break the most valuable asset you posses: your heart.

With love,

M.

Author:

"You can tell yourself that you would be willing to lose everything you have in order to get something you want. But it’s a catch-22: all of those things that you’re willing to lose are what make you recognizable. Lose them, and you’ve lost yourself."— Jodi Picoult

4 thoughts on “What I broke my heart for

  1. I affirm your splendid observations. After two divorces I can count the blessings of three incredible sons and six grandchildren (first husband) and all the traveling my heart desired (second husband). The gift I never would have imagined is that my first husband, who lives nearby, and I are very good friends. My second husband is happily remarried and lives near his daughters. And how did I end up? I am free to live near my sons and their families and to enjoy my newly discovered gift of writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

