My kind of perfection

In response to Poetry 101 Rehab challenge on the topic of FOUND.

“Wanna tell you a secret?
I found perfection and I lost it.”

I found perfection and I lost it,
In a blink of an eye…
When I was in a blind search for the truth,
I saw myself unworthy,
I saw myself imperfect.
Something I thought people can be?
Perfect.
I found perfection in an ancient beauty queen,
Who, sadly, doesn’t have a throne
And neither is she perfect.
I found perfection in an illusion,
An illusion I fell in love with,
An illusion that broke my empty heart.
I found perfection in some eyes as sweet as drugs,
Which made me shiver under my skin,
Some eyes that left me dead inside.
And even outside.
I found perfection in a destination
When all this time
It was only a way of travelling.
I lost perfection,
Only to find it again,
This time, in imperfection.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skyllairae
    Jun 23, 2015 @ 03:46:13

    “I found perfection in some eyes as sweet as drugs,” This is a beautiful line! Nice poem!

    Reply

  2. vivachange77
    Jun 23, 2015 @ 18:15:31

    I love your poem.The idea of the perfection of imperfection has intrigued me over the years. You say it beautifully.

    Reply

  3. schattenengel
    Jun 23, 2015 @ 22:10:34

    I like the following through the lines.
    Your last lines are especially powerful which brings the whole meaning out perfectly.

    A great poem. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mara Eastern
    Jun 24, 2015 @ 00:10:39

    Perfection in imperfection, yes, that’s the spirit I can subscribe to! thank you so much for sharing this great piece!

    Reply

  5. ishkishmish.com
    Jun 28, 2015 @ 10:34:07

    As always, very beautifully written. 💕

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

