Posted in Writings

Distorted

Here is the link to the writing prompt : https://featuredfiction.wordpress.com/

You have two options:

Option 1: Sentence Starter

It wasn’t supposed to end like this.

This sentence (thanks, Rose), can appear anywhere in the story. The maximum word count is 1,000 words. The genre can be any of your choosing; either factual or fiction based. You may use art to interpret the sentence, or poetry if you wish.


Option 2: Fanfiction

Write an alternative ending to one of your favourite films or television shows.

I’ll choose the first one :

“It wasn’t supposed to end like this. I. Getting everything I’ve ever wanted.

And you…being my inspiration.”

I knew that I wanted to change the story, but I really didn’t intend to create such a beautiful ending.

Rage. Hatred. Jealousy….and perfection. All I can remember is that I wanted to write the best description ever…and I couldn’t help but get inspired by the girl with straight hair tied up in a ponytail, cherry lips and clear crystal eyes. She was so heartbreaking beautiful that I swear she could have resembled an ancient queen. Well, that’s how I called her: “my queen”. What’s wrong with having an inspiration? Nothing. What’s wrong with having low self esteem? Everything. I made an amazing description, but I forgot something. I forgot that we are all humans and we don’t have only qualities. I forgot that perfection doesn’t exist and that our imperfections make us attractive. I got badly burned when my own words slapped me in the face because they were all lies…and I was afraid to face the truth. I was afraid to see that there is more to people than just physical appearance….and I was also afraid to admit that I was good enough. I was afraid that I will never rise up to the standard of a self-created perfection. A distorted image. When the illusion shattered I was left with the need to admit that there was more to me than just “a good image” …and that I had a soul. I stopped putting this girl up on a higher pedestal  than the one I was sitting on….and I started to see her as an equal. I guess that ,after all this time, that’s how I managed to change the story. I converted fear into love. The ranks into equality. Lies into truth. Perfection into imperfection. In the end, I turned my worst enemy into my best friend….and if that’s not changing an ending, if that’s not a life lesson than I have no idea what it is.

Author:

"You can tell yourself that you would be willing to lose everything you have in order to get something you want. But it’s a catch-22: all of those things that you’re willing to lose are what make you recognizable. Lose them, and you’ve lost yourself."— Jodi Picoult

2 thoughts on “Distorted

Leave a Reply

