As long as you can still smile…

Dear L,
You’re so emotional that sometimes I can’t stop wondering how is it possible for someone to hold back their tears of joy. For instance, when we brought you that cake in the room your eyes suddenly lit up like those of a little kid and you hugged everyone so tight, admitting that you were almost on the verge of crying. I couldn’t have imagined that you would eventually feel so moved by our little postcard and delicious cake, but you were. I’m really glad that we could make you smile for a change. I’ve never seen you so happy before and that really made me smile , as well. Actually, that reminded me of the best lesson you taught me: “As long as you can still smile, nothing is ever lost…” .

Sometimes we tend to forget how powerful is a kind word, a warm  hug and a funny joke, but that can make someone’s day, they can change someone’s life forever. I am really grateful for having a friend like you in my life, although you don’t know me so well as others and maybe I don’t know a lot about your life, but you truly helped me without knowing it. You influenced me in a good way and I don’t think I would be who I am today without you in my life. That’s why you’re such a dear person to my heart, because you taught me to value with every inch of my heart the persons who are there for me when no one else is, when no one else seem to care. I didn’t feel like smiling for a long time, but you made my understand that life is too precious to be wasted on such silly things as being sad due to the past. No one’s life is perfect and it shouldn’t be, because if it were we wouldn’t have been able to become a better person. I guess that in the end that’s what I am because of you: a better person. I could write all day about how badly something burned me, but that would just make me a victim and I know that we are not victims, but strong woman who have such a compelling smile that no one would ever think that something is wrong with them even if it is. Thank you, L, for making me smile again.

Love,

M.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 15:57:17

    This is so sweet and inspiring! ❤

    Reply

  2. vivachange77
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 18:03:05

    Lovely and loving thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 415 other followers

