The day you broke my heart

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
that pain was not only a mere feeling,
but a complex of emotions
hiding in someone’s heart,
waiting to be discovered.

The day you broke my heart,
I felt the sting of the rain on my cheeks
and the whole world turned
into an unleashed hurricane,
waiting to strike the coast of my silver heart.

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
that love poems were as real as you and me
and that feelings were mine only,
not yours.

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
that sometimes the world will crumble to pieces
and that you would be unable to do anything, but watch,
because your heart it’s not beating like it used to
and you can’t face the pain.

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
that fairytales don’t exist in  reality
and that perfection is unattainable in life.
I stopped believing in prince charming,
because I knew that he would never break your heart,
since he wasn’t real.

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
that love can turn people cold
due to so much suffering.

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
how it is like to look at someone
and feel nothing, just dead inside,
because I was numbing my feelings.

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
that someone could damage you beyond repairing
and you would still love them
with all the broken pieces.

 

The day you broke my heart,
I understood
what true love is all about.
And guess what?
It’s all about freedom.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 421 other followers

