Hope for the best

“I have a hurricane inside my heart
And only you can save me
The person who broke it down into pieces.

I have worlds inside my head
Scars under my skin
And ice is living in my bones.
Only you know about them because I told you
A secret shared between two lovers
Who take a sip of coffee on a rainy day.”

The only home I ever known was inside your arms
But you chose to move away, somewhere else
Somewhere sunny…where you can be with other girls
Go to parties and have fun
While I was left here to cry alone in a corner
To build cages out of my chest
And lock myself inside of them,
To hear everyone’s opinion on the way I should live my life
When I didn’t know what was best for me…

All I’ve ever known was that your kiss was my safe place
And now I’m forced to live without it…
Because I don’t matter to you anymore,
Not in that way…
And the sad thing is that at some point we promised each other
“No matter what I’ll love you forever”
So funny, like we knew what forever even means….

I realised recently that you can never keep all your promises,
Some are meant to be broken
In order to move on with your life.

All I know is that you broke up with me
And that it’s over
And I can’t be fixed the same way you sew a doll
Or put a bandage over a bleeding wound…
To fix me would mean to fix life itself
And we both know that’s not possible
Because humans haven’t figured out a way 
To love without getting hurt….or being left behind…
We just figured a way of living without our best friends
And those we love the most….
Because that’s what we’re supposed to do right?
Learn to move on, fly up high like beautiful birds…
Hoping that we won’t crush our wings in the fall.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 416 other followers

